Posted by: ladyhelga | February 7, 2010

HOT READ

On my latest trip to the library, I found in the shelves Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict written by Laurie Viera Rigler which I have mentioned in past shows. It was exciting to see this book on the shelves and have barely put it down since taking it home.

What is suprising, unlike many Jane Austen type novels and along the line of the Jane Austen Book Club, this story is not a re-invention or continuation of a JA but a story about Courtney Stone (a closet JA addict) who wakes to find herself in an unknown body in an unknown bedroom set in the era of Jane Austen.

We learn through the chapters that Courtney is dealing having her heart-broken and is learning many life lesions about relationships along the way with some help of JA wisdom thrown in.

 Here is one particular section which stands out:

“And then it hits me. Regardless of what era I’m in right now, or how I’m supposed to fulfill my so-called destiny, I refuse to make my destiny a lifetime of nights in the arms of yet another man I don’t care about but want to care about because the alternative is being along or even worse, a man I care about even though I know he can never give me what I really want.”

This is one book I would recommend any JA addict reading especially those dealing with a relationship breakup.

Next read after this will have to be Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict.

Leave a Reply

Categories

